Learning to Code Using Hopscotch – Engaging, Purposeful, & Challenging Learning

Today is a Great Day for Learning

What is coding?

I didn’t know much about it either prior to December of 2014.  I learned that it is another language and knowing how it works will open up a lot of possibilities for my students and our classroom.  I saw Tom, a colleague at my school doing creative integrated Science/Math projects with a coding app called Hopscotch.  As soon as I saw his kids engaged in conversations without teacher prompting about how to make their projects/demonstrations/games better I asked Tom if his kids could do a brief mentoring of my students.  I thought what they were doing was innovative, yet I had no idea on how to start because I had no experience with coding myself.

Luckily for me expertise runs deep if you’re willing to release control and let play and experimentation into your room.  Soon after we participated in the Hour of Code and…

View original post 613 more words

Leave a Reply

